Cricket IPL

The Men in Blue of IPL – Mumbai Indians Team Squad

Will the winning streak continue?

Mumbai Indians is unarguably one of the most successful IPL franchises in the history of the world-famous tournament. They hold an unbeaten record of five wins. The defending champions had a memorable victory against Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the 2020 edition of IPL. The team will now be looking to become the first IPL franchise to get a hat-trick of IPL titles. The team has won IPL 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020 editions previously.

Can they continue with the win streak with the new players they acquired this year?

Here is the updated Mumbai Indians Team Squad.


The Mumbai Indians Team Full Squad for 2021

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Quinton de Kock (Wicket Keeper), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (Wicket Keeper), Chris Lynn, Anmolpreet Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohsin Khan, Nathan Coulter Nile, Adam Milne, Piyush Chawla, James Neesham, Yudhvir Charak, Marco Jansen, Arjun Tendulkar.

The retained players are –

Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Quinton de Kock, Jasprit Bumrah, Chris Lynn, Trent Boult, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Rahul Chahar, Anmolpreet Singh, Aditya Tare, Mohsin Khan, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni and Anukul Roy.

The franchise has released the following players this year –

Lasith Malinga, Mitch McClenaghan, James Pattinson, Sherfane Rutherford, Digvijay Deshmukh, and Prince Balwant Rai.

The new faces in the team are –

Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Milne, Piyush Chawla, James Neesham, Marco Jansen, Arjun Tendulkar, and Yudhvir Charak.

The Underdogs

Yudhvir is a 23-year-old right-arm medium-fast bowler and made his T20 debut in November 2019 for Hyderabad in Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy. His first-class debut was made in December 2019 for Hyderabad in Ranji Trophy.

Arjun Tendulkar, the 21-year-old son of the Indian legend Sachin Tendulkar is also on the team this year. He’s a left-handed fast bowler and a left-handed batsman. His T20 debut was in January 2021 for Mumbai in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy against Haryana.

Marco is a South African 20-year-old bowling all-rounder who made his debut for Knights against Warriors at East London in April 2019.

These young guns are undoubtedly worthy of the title of underdogs.

The Newest Stunners

Piyush Chawla is finally in Mumbai Indians for the 2021 edition of IPL. His IPL career is quite impressive. He has played in franchises like Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings), Kolkata Knight Riders, and Chennai Super Kings, where his performance was appreciated thoroughly.

Nathan Coulter-Nile has been a part of IPL since 2013 and was already in Mumbai Indians during his first season. He then moved to Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals), Kolkata Knight Riders, and Royal Challengers Bangalore. This year he’s finally back in MI to have a blast again.  In conclusion, the Mumbai Indians Team Squad will not only show off some balanced gameplay in this year’s edition of IPL but will try to continue with the win streak with the great squad they composed with the new names also.



About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *