Top World News

Kerala Election 2021 Live Updates: State Records 64.78 % Polling Till 4.46 Pm

Source: The Hindu

The 15th Kerala Election 2021 election is scheduled to be held in Kerala on April 6, 2021, to elect 140 MLAs. The powers of the 14th legislative Assembly in the state will end soon, on June 1, 2021.

In the previous election, which was held in the year 2016, the Left Democratic Front (LDF) had won the election leaving behind two-third of the total seats in the Assembly, defeating the incumbent United Democratic Front (UDF) led by the Indian National Congress (INC).

The INC could only win 47 seats in the election. The BJP won the seats, and P.C George, who later established the secular part known as Kerala Janapaksham, won the rest of the seats.

The sitting MLA of Pala’s constituency switched to UDF after the LDF denied him Pala constituency in the election on February 2021. This resulted in NCP expelling him from the party, following which he formed a new political party named Nationalist Congress Kerala (NCK). On March 17, 2021, P. C.

Thomas announced that his party Kerala Congress (Thomas) has merged with the Joseph faction of Kerala Congress to form a new party, with him being its Deputy Chairman. We will call the new party as Kerala Congress.

In the present Covid scenario, the election commission has issued detailed instructions for ensuring minimum facilities at each polling station, like providing sanitizers or soap to voters. Voting for 140 assembly seats in Kerala is underway.

About an average of 957 candidates will compete against each other in the election to test their political fortunes in the state. The total number of voters list for the assembly polls has 2,74,46,039 voters – out of which 1,32,83,734 are men, 1,41,62,025 are women, 290 are transgender voters, and 57,160 are service voters. At the voting polls, the voters have to wear masks and maintain social distancing at the booths.

Following is the schedule for the Kerala Election 2021

Date of issue of gazette notification 12/03/2021 Friday
Last date for filing nomination 19/03/2021 Friday

Scrutiny of nomination

20/03/2021 Saturday
Last date of withdrawal of candidature 22/03/2021 Monday
Date of polling 06/04/2021 Tuesday
Date of counting 02/05/2021 Sunday

Parties and Alliance


Communist Party of India. A. Vijayaraghavan 77 65 12
Communist Party of India Kanam Rajendran 24 22 2
Kerala Congress (M) Jose K. Mani 12 11 1
Janata Dal (Secular) Mathew T. Thomas 4 4 0
Nationalist Congress Party T. P. Peethambaran 3 3 0
Loktantrik Janata Dal M. V. Shreyams Kumar 3 3 0
Indian National League A. P. Abdul Wahab 3 3 0
Congress (Secular) Kadannappalli Ramachandran 1 1 0
Kerala Congress (B) R. Balakrishna Pillai 1 1 0
Janadhipathya Kerala Congress K. C. Joseph 1 1 0
Independents   11 11 0
TOTAL   140 125 16


Indian National Congress Mullappally Ramachandran 93 83 10
Indian Union Muslim League Sayed Hyderali Shihab Thanga 25 24 1
Kerala Congress P. J. Joseph 10 10 0
Revolutionary Socialist Party A. A. Aziz 5 5 0
Nationalist Congress Kerala Mani C. Kappan 2 2 0
Kerala Congress (Jacob) Anoop Jacob 1 1 0
Communist Marxist Party C. P. John 1 1 0
Revolutionary Marxist Party of India N. Venu 1 1 0
Independents   2 2 0
TOTAL   140 128 12

NOTE: Election 2021 is going to be held in all 14 districts.

For more such live news and the latest updates, stay connected with us and keep visiting!

About the author

Anchal Ahuja

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *